On June 24, 2020, the governors of New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut announced a travel advisory. The travel advisory requires a 14-day quarantine for travelers from states where the infection rates pass a threshold that indicates, “significant community spread,” said New York Governor Andrew Cuomo. The 14-day quarantine applies to anyone coming from a state with a transmission rate above 10 per 100,000 people on a seven-day rolling average or 10 percent of the total population testing positive on a seven-day rolling average.

Currently, Governor Cuomo notes that nine states are passing the threshold: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah, and Texas.

Governor Cuomo stated that those who are violating the quarantine could be subject to a judicial order and mandatory quarantine, and fines are $2,000 for the first violation, $5,000 for the second violation, and $10,000 if you cause harm. The advisory goes into effect at midnight.

We are closely monitoring New York’s guidance as the State continues to reopen and will continue to keep you updated. If you have questions concerning the travel advisory, one of our attorneys can assist you. Please do not hesitate to contact the Wladis Law Firm. We will do our best to provide you with updates and will be available to answer questions as circumstances change. We may be reached at (315) 445-1700 or by e-mailing your everyday firm contacts.